Get Out More

Get more out of life

Staying In

I always think of autumn as a time of new beginnings. It doesn’t have the clean slate factor of 1 January or the bursting-into-new-life feel of spring, but there is something about the change of season from summer to autumn that feels like a fresh start. I suppose its all those years of going back to school in September that gets me thinking about the year ahead and significant changes in my lifeĀ  all happened in autumn. As this season has turned around it feels like a time of big change too. The Creative Partnerships creative learning programme I have worked on for the last 3 years has come to a close and I am now focusing all my time on developing my business, Get Out More. Up to now this has only been half of my income but now its time for the outdoor work to stand on its own two feet and be self supporting, so I’m working hard to build up my business. Great that I’ve picked the middle of an economic downturn to do this!

I have a new holiday forest school programme up and running in Ilkley, alongside the Bingley one and I’m planning to expand to do some outdoor skills sessions for older kids on Saturday mornings. I’m busy talking to lots of schools about outdoor learning and forest schools and networking with other outdoor types to see how we can work together to promote what we do. With the extra bit of time in a working week I’ve been trying to get up to speed with how technology can help to reach new customers. I’ve been doing crash courses in online social media and search engine optimisation and realised whilst I’ve been out playing in the woods the online world has been developing its box of tricks and its time I joined in. So ironically for someone who advocates switching off the screen and getting outdoors, I’m going to be stopping in to tinker with Facebook, Linked In, Flickr and this blog to try and make it more interactive and reach out to more people who are interested in ways to get out more. Watch this space!

No comments yet»

Leave a comment